Spotify Expands AI DJ to More Than 50 Countries Now

  • Save

Spotify expands AI DJ

  • Save

Photo Credit: Spotify

After debuting its AI DJ in February for the United States and Canada, Spotify is now rolling out the feature to more than 50 countries.

The United Kingdom and Ireland got their hands on Spotify’s AI DJ in May—with the expansion continuing now across the globe. Spotify says since the feature launched, it has become the most discussed Spotify feature on social media. Now Spotify Premium users in select markets in Europe, Asia, Australia, New Zealand, and Africa can access the English version of the DJ.

The Spotify DJ voice model is Spotify’s own Head of Cultural Partnerships, Xavier ‘X’ Jernigan. The AI DJ is built around music discovery, combining Spotify’s personalization technology and generative AI to create a DJ with a dynamic voice that feels like its making tailored personal recommendations while delivering commentary.

“We’ve found that when DJ listeners hear commentary alongside personal music recommendations, they’re more willing to try something new or listen to a song they may have otherwise skipped,” Spotify says about the tech. “As we bring DJ to new markets, we’re seeing users tune in even more, with fans spending nearly one-third of their listening time with DJ.”

How to Access Spotify DJ in the Mobile App (iOS/Android)

Finding Spotify’s AI DJ is pretty simple. Simply open the app and navigate to the ‘Music Feed’ and tap DJ. The Spotify DJ will choose a lineup of music hand-selected for your personal listening tastes while delivering English-language commentary on the songs and artists it selects. So which countries are getting new access to the feature? Here’s a quick list.

Available markets as of August 8, 2023: Antigua, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Barbuda, Belize, Botswana, Burundi, Canada, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Marshall Islands, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sweden, Tanzania, Tonga, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.