Sweden triumphs at the Eurovision Song Contest 2023

Photo credit: Jonatan Svensson Glad / CC from 3.0

Sweden has won the Eurovision Song Contest for a record seventh time in history. This year’s winner was Loreen with “Tattoo”.

Sweden won Euro Vision Song Contest 2023The Swedish candidate Loreen prevailed with her song “Tattoo” and prevailed against 25 other countries with 583 points. Loreen’s win means that Sweden is likely to host the competition next year, as the winning country traditionally hosts the following year.

Sweden was followed by Finnish competitor Käärijä in second place with 526 points and Israeli Noa Kirel in third place with 362 points.

This year is Loreen’s second Eurovision win – she won in 2012 with her song ‘Euphoria’ – and the seventh win for Sweden, which is Ireland’s most-win win.

This year’s Eurovision competition took place in Liverpool, UK, on ​​behalf of last year’s winners Ukraine after it was deemed too dangerous to hold in the country following the Russian invasion. Last year Briton Sam Ryder took second place behind the Kalush Orchestra from Ukraine.

Eurovision is operated and organized by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU). It features music artists from across Europe and several other countries including Australia and Israel who are members of the EBU. Hosts of the competition this year were rapper and Britain’s Got Talent judge Alisha Dixon, Hannah Waddingham of Ted Lasso, Ukrainian musician Julia Sanina and longtime Eurovision commentator and presenter Graham Norton.

The show featured several famous faces including Andrew Lloyd Webber, singer Joss Stone, last year’s winner Kalush Orchestra and Catherine, the Princess of Wales. Last year’s runner-up Sam Ryder performed his latest single “Mountain” accompanied by Queen drummer Roger Taylor.

Participants of the Eurovision Song Contest 2023:

  • Teya & Salena (Austria) – “Who the hell is Edgar?”
  • Mimicat (Portugal) – “Ai Coração”
  • Remo Forrer (Switzerland) – “Watergun”
  • Blanka (Poland) – “Solo”
  • Luke Black (Serbia) – “Samo Mi Se Spava”
  • La Zarra (France) – “Obviously”
  • Andrew Lambrou (Cyprus) – “Break a Broken Heart”
  • Blanca Paloma (Spain) – “Eaea”
  • Loreen (Sweden) – “Tattoo”
  • Family Albina & Kelmendi (Albania) – “Duje”
  • Marco Mengoni (Italy) – “Two Lives”
  • Alika (Estonia) – “Bridges”
  • Käärijä (Finland) – “Cha Cha Cha”
  • Vesna (Czech Republic) – “My Sister’s Crown”
  • Voyager (Australia) – “Promise”
  • Gustaph (Belgium) – “Because of you”
  • Brunette (Armenia) – “Future Lover”
  • Pasha Parfeni (Moldova) – “Sun and Moon”
  • TVORCHI (Ukraine) – “Heart of Steel”
  • Alessandra (Norway) – “Queen of Kings”
  • Lord of the Lost (Germany) – “Blood & Glitter”
  • Monika Linkytė (Lithuania) – “Stay”
  • Noa Kirel (Israel) – “Unicorn”
  • Joker Out (Slovenia) – “Carpe Diem”
  • Flight 3 (Croatia) – “Mama ŠČ!”
  • Mae Muller (UK) – “I Wrote a Song”